Points and a podium for Honda Racing at Donington Park

It was a dramatic return for the Louth-based team with its trio of riders Dan Linfoot, Jenny Tinmouth and Jason O'Halloran onboard the Honda CBR1000RR Fireblade.

7 April 2015

Race One

Race one took place in glorious conditions at the Leicestershire circuit with Linfoot starting ninth, O'Halloran 23rd and Timouth 35th on the grid. In the opening stages of the race Linfoot made his charge towards the front of the pack and by lap five was sitting in fifth place. During the same lap O'Halloran had moved back to 25th, while Timouth suffered a highside coming into the sixth lap, crashing out and ending her race.
By lap nine Linfoot had moved into third position where he remained for a further ten laps. Hot on Linfoot's heels by the closing stages was the Milwaukee Yamaha of Josh Brookes, who during the final lap managed to get past clinching the third spot from Linfoot by 0.058 seconds. O'Halloran crossed the line in 19th position.
Race two saw just two of the Honda Racing squad on the grid, as Tinmouth was unable to start due to a technical problem with her machine following the incident in race one. Linfoot started the 20-lap race from fifth place and O'Halloran was in 21st.
From the start Linfoot was charging for the front and by the fifth lap had taken the lead over Shane Byrne and Stuart Easton. The remainder of the race was a tense affair for Honda Racing as Linfoot and Byrne went head-to-head for the win. After an epic battle Linfoot crossed the line in second place to Byrne, scoring his best ever BSB finish to date and is second in the championship standings with 33 points. Meanwhile O'Halloran finished in the points after making his way up through the pack to finish in 11th position.
The next round of the MCE British Superbike Championship takes place at Brands Hatch 17-19 April.
For all the latest news on the team follow @HondaRacingBSB.
Havier Beltran, team manager:
We are so pleased with Dan's results today; all the hard work him and the team have put in has really paid off. At times it has been a difficult weekend with set-up issues and also with Jenny not able to start race two, but all in all we're happy enough and look forward to getting to the second round and seeing what we can do there. We've shown today that the Fireblade has pace and we have the ability to be running at the front.
Dan Linfoot:
Today has been great! I came here hoping for two top-fives so a podium is just fantastic. I'm feeling really comfortable with the bike and just want to thank my team for all their hard work. It was a great battle with Shakey to the end and I just can't wait until the next round at Brands.
Jenny Tinmouth:
It's been a mixed weekend for me really on one hand I'm disappointed not have been able to get out for race two, but I've also learnt a lot. Just a huge thanks to my team for putting the bike back together after my off in race one and sorry to them to keep giving them some work. I'm chuffed to bits with the bike; it's amazing and can't wait to get back on it at Brands. Congratulations also to Dan on his second place and thanks to everyone for their support.
Jason O'Halloran:
It's been a good weekend for us; we've made some more changes to the bike, which paid off in the second race and I'm starting to feel confident in how it feels now. I'm leaving the first round feeling like we've really progressed and am looking forward to round two.
MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Donington Park, race one result: 

  • 1. James Ellison (JG Speedfit Kawasaki)
  • 2. Shane Byrne (PBM Kawasaki
  • 3. Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha)
  • 4. Dan Linfoot (Honda Racing) 
  • 5. Peter Hickman (RAF Reserves BMW)
  • 6. Tommy Bridewell (Tyco BMW)
  • 7. Christian Iddon (Bennetts Suzuki)
  • 8. Chris Walker (Be Wiser Kawasaki)
  • 9. Michael Laverty (Tyco BMW)
  • 10. Richard Cooper (Anvil Hire TAG Kawasaki)
  • MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Donington Park, race two result:
    • 1. Shane Byrne (PBM Kawasaki)
    • 2. Dan Linfoot (Honda Racing)
    • 3. Stuart Easton (PBM Kawasaki)
    • 4. Peter Hickman (RAF Reserves BMW)
    • 5. Christian Iddon (Bennetts Suzuki)
    • 6. Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha)
    • 7. Michael Laverty (Tyco BMW)
    • 8. Tommy Bridewell (Tyco BMW)
    • 9. Billy McConnell (Smiths Racing BMW)
    • 10. Chris Walker (Be Wiser Kawasaki)
  • MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, standings after Donington Park:
    • 1. Shane Byrne (PBM Kawasaki) 45
    • 2. Dan Linfoot (Honda Racing) 33
    • 3. James Ellison (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) 29
    • 4. Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) 26
    • 5. Peter Hickman (RAF Reserves BMW) 24
    • 6. Stuart Easton (PBM Kawasaki) 219