Reviews

Race ready

The Type R is all about one thing - performance.

Type R reviews verified by reevooReevoo

Comfort
8.8
Build quality
9.1
Performance
9.7
Fun to drive
9.7
Practicality
9.0
Fuel economy
7.8
Features and specification
9.2
Value for money
8.7
Overall rating
9.2
Scores 9.2 out of 10 based on 159 reviews
6 out of 10

Chris

Worthing Commuter
+
The steering (handling) is superb, turn in is sharp and precise with next to no understeer and no snap oversteer.

Power delivery in R+ mode is very strong and linear with a nice surge of torque mid rpm.

It is deceptively rapid.

Seats are excellent, comfortable but holds you in well.

Gear change is like a rifle bolt action, slick and short (one of the best features)

The car is very well balanced for a front engined hatch back.
Suspension in R+ is ridiculous for daily use, only really any benefit for track use.

Steering (road feel) is non existent a completely mechanical disconnected action with no feed back.

Built quality is not great, dash rattles, bad fitting trim part's, cheap plastic door handle's that move.

Horrible carpet effect wheel arch liners that just pick up road debris, impossible to clean and look awful.

Wheels were poorly painted, visible under spray.

An under-seal has been used next to the wheel liners that is of a tar like consistency so little stone chips have created a pebble dash effect which looks awful.

The infotainment system is a complete waste of time, Andriod based but frequently crashes, the DAB radio drops out for no reason.

Most of the functions are erratic to use and there are no apps or updates available, a real opportunity wasted. No Apple CarPlay or Andriod Auto (even though it's Andriod based).

Single biggest bug is that you cant have the more responsive engine map without the R+ suspension setting which get's annoying within minutes of being turned on.

Does not like being in slow moving traffic, it's very much an all or nothing car.
Review-photo-icon
50x50
415x380

Confirmed purchase: 30 September 2016
Published on: 17 March 2017

CIVIC

Hi Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I am sorry to learn of your concerns with your Civic Type R.

If you would like to further share your feedback/comments, please get in touch via email or telephone (details listed below).

Please provide your name, the registration number of your vehicle and details of your concerns. A case can then be made for you, where a member of the Customer Relations team can then make contact you if you do so wish.

Once again, thank you for completing the Reevoo survey.

Amy – Customer Relations
Honda Contact Centre 0845 200 8000
customer.serviceuk@honda-eu.com

9 out of 10

Steve

Southampton Parent
+
Performance, comfortable seats
Fuel economy, a few cockpit rattles
Confirmed purchase: 24 December 2016
Published on: 02 March 2017

Type R

9 out of 10

Darren

kettering Recreational
+
Power delivery,Looks
No rear wiper
Review-photo-icon
50x50
415x380

Awesome

Confirmed purchase: 16 December 2016
Published on: 13 February 2017

CIVIC

8 out of 10

John

Essex Commuter
+
The Type R is a proper Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde vehicle, as adept at bimbling along in heavy traffic as it is at tearing up A and B roads at full bore.

Contrary to reports that big rear wing is not even visible from the drivers seat let alone impeding one's view.

The car has a firm but well damped ride and for me at least the driving position is nigh on perfect with exceptionally comfortable seats.

I've also read comments about a lack of steering feel and whilst in isolation they may have some merit I have not previously driven a road car that transmits as much feel through all the human touch points letting the driver know exactly what is going on at all times. It's this reason more than any other that makes this such a good car.
The brakes sometimes squeal at low speeds.

The front tyres don't look like they're going to last very long despite my best efforts not to lean on them too hard.

The graphics on the Garmin derived satnav are awful (I still use my TomTom).

The lack of a third centre belt in the rear is unforgivable.
Confirmed purchase: 10 December 2016
Published on: 06 February 2017

Type R

Hi John,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I am delighted to hear that you are, in general, satisfied with your experience of your Type-R.

I hope you continue to enjoy your new purchase.

Once again, thank you for completing the Reevoo survey.

10 out of 10

Ian

Blackpool Commuter
+
Reviewer left no comment
None
Confirmed purchase: 30 November 2016
Published on: 31 January 2017

CIVIC

9 out of 10

MARGARET

Westleton Recreational
+
Very comfortable bucket seats which hold you tight.
It hugs the road and when in R mode it holds it's line like a limpet.
The wings, which help to keep the car on the road, give it an aerodynamic feel and look.
It's a car which puts a smile on my face every time I drive it, what more could a person ask.
I wish it had a back window windscreen washer, I live in a country lane which gets very muddy.
Whilst the bucket seats are fantastic for comfort, if one is in a short skirt, it takes some maneuvering to get out of the car in a lady-like way.
Confirmed purchase: 12 November 2016
Published on: 13 January 2017

Type R

10 out of 10

Gary

Aberdeen
+
It ticks all the boxes for me I have had Porsche cars also .
The plastic could be a lot better then it is ?
Confirmed purchase: 12 November 2016
Published on: 12 January 2017

Type R

9 out of 10

Leslie

Gargrave Recreational
+
The car looks fantastic and performs very well.
I dont think the build quality is as good as previous Honda's I have owned but time will tell.
Confirmed purchase: 01 November 2016
Published on: 02 January 2017

Type R

9 out of 10

Paula

Tonypandy Parent
+
Great car to drive. Performance is fantastic. Looks great
Dont come with a cd player and sometimes bluetooth plays up and crashes whole of stereo meaning you have to turn car off and back on again to reset itself
Review-photo-icon
50x50
415x380

Confirmed purchase: 31 October 2016
Published on: 26 December 2016

Type R

10 out of 10

Confirmed purchaser

+
So fun to drive
Reviewer left no comment
Confirmed purchase: 21 October 2016
Published on: 24 December 2016

CIVIC